GREY NURSE SHARK SCHOOL

July 1, 2010 Comments Off on GREY NURSE SHARK SCHOOL

After years of drought there was rain all along the east coast of Australia.  The sharks that were thought to be on the brink of extinction suddenly came back by the hundred.  The link between rainfall and sea life has not been studied, to my knowledge, at least not with shark populations.

Try counting the Grey nurse in this picture.  I think there could be 21.

Comment via Facebook:

“I believe that the Grey nurse is not a threatened shark, there are still many congregations of the sharks that the so called know alls don’t know about, certainly in the area where I live.  (North coast of New South Wales).

I have even seen a 7ft 6″ one that was caught in the lower section of the Clarence River and one that was caught in a trawler’s net just north of Yamba NSW on sand.

There are many places along the NSW coast that have not been dived on and would most certainly support the Grey Nurse shark. This is my beleif and I stand to be correct.  I have swam and dived in the ocean for the last 40 years.  Geoff ‘Boots’ Towner 2 July 2010

Tagged: , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading GREY NURSE SHARK SCHOOL at fathomOz 3.

meta